Silly Little Love Songs

man-198961_640“Why sing love songs that are so idealistic that they can only find fulfillment in Jesus? Why not just sing about Jesus Christ?” Donna Cori Gibson.

Like Donna, I’ve noticed that a great number, if not a majority, of mainstream songs, books and movies in the Western/ developed world feature the quest for LOVE.

This worldly portrayal of our desire warps our expectations, impacts where we search for love and distorts what we think love is.

The desire for LOVE is in us because we are made in the image of God. Loving God before all other loves makes loving flawed humans possible. At least that’s what I’ve experienced.

Thank you, Jesus.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsfR5Ucl2PQ&index=4&list=PLhGLS-7PRCnDHiTlFbo5zaR3jisO3n12j

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in christianity, conversion, culture, family problems, intimacy, Jesus, marital problems, relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment