Now whatta ya want?

3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. Philippians 2:3-4 (NIV)

Or in Rick Warren’s pupose-driven paraphrase: “Servants think more about others than about themselves.”

As I was reading that the other day, this thought popped up: I entertain myself by thinking up and chasing down unnecessary wants.

Example: I need a new pair of black boots to go with my black pants, I need a new pair of black pants as a backup to my current pair, I need a black belt cuz my new black pants have belt loops. Why do I have so much black in my wardrobe? I need navy blue pants, etc., etc., etc.

How the heck can I think of others with this self-interest hogging up brain-space?

Awareness of a fault, okay, a sin is the first step to changing one’s behavior. I hope.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, christianity, Jesus, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now whatta ya want?

  1. Susan Storlie says:

    Ouch! Get out of my head! But I don’t really have any Navy blue pants….maybe brown?

Leave a Reply

