Beatles – Lord’s Prayer Mash Up

As a word nerd, I do crosswords puzzles in bed, conjugate verbs in public, and play with live grammar. Here’s what happened when I messed with pronouns.

Beatles song “I, Me, Mine” with 3rd person pronouns:

All thru’ the day we us ours, we us ours, we us ours. All thru’ the night we us ours, we us ours, we us ours. Now they’re frightened of leaving it Ev’ryone’s weaving it, Coming on strong all the time, All thru’ the day we us ours. We us us ours, we us us ours, we us us ours, we us us ours.

Beatles song with the original 1st person pronouns:

All thru’ the day I me mine, I me mine, I me mine. All thru’ the night I me mine, I me mine, I me mine. Now they’re frightened of leaving it Ev’ryone’s weaving it, Coming on strong all the time, All thru’ the day I me mine. I-me-me mine, I-me-me mine, I-me-me mine, I-me-me mine.

Lord’s Prayer with 1st person pronouns:

My Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give me this day my daily bread, and forgive me my debts, as I also have forgiven my debtors. And lead me not into temptation, but deliver me from evil.”

Lord’s Prayer with 3rd person pronouns:

Our Father in heaven,hallowed be your name.Your kingdom come,your will be done,on earth as it is in heaven.Give us this day our daily bread,and forgive us our debts,as we also have forgiven our debtors.And lead us not into temptation,but deliver us from evil.

Jesus is a word nerd. Jesus chose 3rd person pronouns for a reason.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, christianity, Jesus, Lord's Prayer, religion, spirituality, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beatles – Lord’s Prayer Mash Up

  1. Susan Storlie says:

    Beth you amaze me! Only you would think that through!

Leave a Reply

