Psst! Gotta light?

Buddha said, “Be ye lamps unto yourselves. Rely on yourselves, and do not rely on external help. Hold fast to the truth as a lamp. Seek salvation alone in the truth. Look not for assistance to any one besides yourselves. (http://www.sacred-texts.com/bud/btg/btg94.htm)

The Psalmist said, “Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path.” (Psalms 119:105 NIV)

I used to think Buddhism and Christianity were compatible. I don’t think that any more.

For a long, long time I tried to be a lamp unto myself. Yet I still stumbled in the dark.

Did you ever tour a cave and for a moment the tour guide turns off all the lights?

Blackness becomes palpable. Panic starts to rise. Then the guide turns on the lights.

Crossing the line is like that for me. But more so.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, buddhism, christianity, religion, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Psst! Gotta light?

  1. Interesting post – I think Christianity and Buddhism are very compatible because Buddhism is not a religion but a philosophy. To be honest the Buddha quote you put there is a pretty applicable one, isn’t it? Don’t you seek within?

Leave a Reply

