I’m outta the closet

For leap year, the local newspaper (York , PA’s York Daily Record) asked its readers to tell them about a time when they took a leap of faith. Readers’ 100-word stories of their leaps of faith were published in today’s paper. Mine was published, too.

It read:

“I went to Sunday school and endured goofy flannel board stories. I quit going at age 12. Decades passed.

Then in 2010 a friend suggested I attend the Alpha Course at Living Word Community Church.

The day after the first class I wrote in my journal, ‘I believe Jesus is the son of God. This acknowledgement has lifted my heavy, judgemental cloud. The weight that lifted was the futility of disregarding 2 million or so Christians, 2000 years of tradition, and the belief of other smart people who are Christians.’

The Alpha Course brought me back to Jesus and the church.”

I’m out of the closet. And having that published does not make me squeamish. I hope someone who is like I was before Alpha will see what I wrote and re-think their position. Maybe it’ll be someone who knows me.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m outta the closet

  1. Susan Storlie says:

    You have not idea how blessed I am to be “the friend” who invited you to Alpha! That God would use me ( in a little way ) to bring about such amazing changes in your life. You constantly surprize me as you embrace this new life.

Leave a Reply

