OK. Meek it is.

It’s been bothering me lately that Jesus is described as “meek.” I think of meek as a synonym for weak, wishy-washy, mealy-mouthed, uninspiring and so on.

When I read Jesus’ quotes in the Bible, I’m awed. He’s anything BUT weak, wishy-washy, mealy-mouthed, uninspiring and so on.

So, I looked up “meek.” An online dictionary defines meek as humbly patient or docile, as under provocation from others.

And the web site Who are the meek? says, “Meekness is not weakness. Sometimes we confuse the two. But the difference between a meek person and weak person is this: a weak person can’t do anything. A meek person, on the other hand, can do something but chooses not to.”

Yes, Jesus is meek. Something I shall strive to be.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, christianity, Jesus, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

