Excruciating

excruciate Look up excruciate at Dictionary.com1560s, from L. excruciatus, pp. of excruciare “to torture, torment, rack, plague;” figuratively “to afflict, harass, vex, torment,” from ex- “out, thoroughly” (see ex-) + cruciare “cause pain or anguish to,” lit. “crucify,” from crux (gen. crucis) “cross.”

Did the means of killing Jesus have to be excruciating? What if he’d been killed instantly with a deft whack up side the head? Or if he’d been given poison and died in his sleep? Would we be as awed, humbled, grateful?

My guess is, Nope. Otherwise God would have done it differently.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Excruciating

  1. I think we take the pain Christ suffered that day for granted. It’s a great question. would we have been just as saved? I guess a big sin demanded a big price and Jesus was paying for all of them.

Leave a Reply

