Caesar and Me: Part I

While cleaning out old files, I found a tax receipt from ’04.

I have a hunch I’ve not paid that particular tax recently.

My husband thinks I should, “Just forget about it.”

I tried. I can’t.

Asking a person who doesn’t follow Jesus for advice is not wise. The advice will probably be preference-based, not principle-based.

You can make eloquent arguments positing that the Bible passage (Mark 12:17) unequivocally does not stand for the proposition that Jesus thought it was morally obligatory to pay taxes. Nevertheless, not paying a tax I owe is the same as lying. And there’s a commandment about that.

Fudging a few dollars on my taxes didn’t bother me before I accepted Jesus as my savior. In fact, I’d felt pretty smug about it.

Now, I’m bothered.

Before this week is over, I’m going to visit the tax collector’s office and ask her to check my records and tell me if I must “Render unto Caesar.”

Stay tuned . . .

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in christianity, Jesus, religion, sin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

