Bible Resolution Wrong

I don’t live in the so-called Bible belt region of the USA, and yet it seems that frequently letters to the editor of our local newspaper are about religion, both “fer ‘n’ agin.”

Here’s a letter from the other day. How would you reply to it?

Pennsylvania’s legislature used taxpayer money to pass a resolution declaring 2012 the year of the Bible. Most legislatures voted for the bill without reading it, just like all religious people don’t read the Bible in its entirety. Instead, legislatures and religious people cherry-pick what they want to hear and believe.

There is nothing wrong with going to church, but when those beliefs go beyond the walls, windows and doors of a church, those beliefs should be put in the nearest trash can. Disturbingly, Pennsylvania government finds it necessary to drag religious trash into the state Capitol and force it upon everyone. Religion belongs in a church and not government.

Pennsylvania government, if not all governments, lack good thought. Instead of wasting time declaring 2012 as the year of the Bible, why not pass good ideas to lower taxes, lower fees for business owners, and many more thoughtful ideas which mean something to taxpayers. No, government says, let us raise college tuition, raise the turnpike tolls, raise business owner fees and taxes, raise property taxes, and the most important raise — raise Pennsylvania legislators’ salaries at taxpayer expense.

Religion and politics don’t mix. Unfortunately, Pennsylvania legislators only see God on printed money they waste or stick in their greedy little pockets.
MATT JUBA SPRINGETTSBURY TWP.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, christianity, religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bible Resolution Wrong

  1. While I do feel this man’s pain about the inefficacy of government to, well, govern, I would ask Mr. Springettsbury whether it’s the Bible he objects to or his state government’s frivolous resolution given the more pressing and important matters they might deal with. It’s a shame that non-Christians, as this man appears to be, have such a closed-minded view of God and His book. But maybe the bigger shame is a legislative body that votes itself a raise when so many people are out of work, hungry, and on the verge of homelessness.

    • Matt Juba says:

      I am against the current state of Pennsylvania government of mixing religion and politics. Government is for all the people. End of story.
      The bible contains good and bad things. One example of my cherry-picking, “If a man happens to meet a virgin who is not pledged to be married and rapes her and they are discovered, he shall pay her father fifty shekels of silver. He must marry the young woman, for he has violated her. He can never divorce her as long as he lives.” Deuteronomy 22:28-29 NIV This is undoubtedly a very disturbing passage someone wrote and PUT INTO the bible. If you accept the bible as the word or God, you can not cherry-pick God’s thoughts.
      I am not a atheist but a freethinker. I base my life on my senses and science to reach conclusions or question everything in the universe. Science allows my mind to think freely. I don’t care for religion because it conditions the mind to a certain pattern, in my opinion. There is nothing wrong with going to church but when people impose their beliefs upon me or their conditioning—don’t be surprised if I raise my hand and object.

      • beth says:

        The government isn’t requiring we all read the Bible. And you can ignore the Bible and the resolution if you wish. So, I don’t think beliefs are being imposed on us. In any case, this is National Ice Cream Month. Enjoy. But only if you want to.

Leave a Reply

