Caesar Had Mercy: End

I hadn’t paid county taxes for my business income for the past year.

I felt guilty. (“Render unto Caesar . . . etc.”)

I contacted the county tax bureau. They sent me the tax form.

Thought I owed X dollars, plus late fees, interest, penalty for one year. Their records showed I hadn’t paid for four years. I gulped. 4 years times X dollars is a heap o’ money.

County cut me a break and I only had to pay for one year.

I learned that the reason I hadn’t paid was because THE COUNTY changed horses in mid-stream and didn’t transfer information from the old tax collector to the new one. It was up to us tax payers to proact.

I said, “There must be a lot of businesses who are in the same boat I’m in.” (i.e. in arears)

After an awkward pause, tax person said, “Yes, there’s quite a few.”

Check written. Case closed.

I feel good and clear.

 

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in christianity, sin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caesar Had Mercy: End

  1. Susan Storlie says:

    What a wonderful story to show God’s faithfulness as we step out in obedience. You did what you felt was the right, correct thing to do, and it lined up with God’s word. You were prepared to suffer terrible consequences $$. And God gave you favor in Caesar’s eyes. I think God want you to know that if you step out for Him, He has your back. So cool, Woohoo God!

Leave a Reply

