Christian Gobbledygook

 

“What words come to mind when you think of the way church was before you came to faith?” our group leader asked.

“Boring.”

“Gobbledygook.”

“Not relevant.”

Only going to church and expecting to understand everything in the hymns and sermons is like reading the credits at the end of a movie without having seen the movie.

That’s the way church was for me. Even as an adult (with two college degrees and then some), I didn’t understand the meanings of everyday words used in a “churchy” context.

For example, what does it mean to “seek the face of God?” I think I’d choke on my coffee if I saw God’s face while I’m sitting here at my desk. Intuitively, I knew face meant something grander than literal eyes, nose, ears, mouth . . .

Going to Bible study classes has helped my comprehension. Looking up words in my massive 1980s Webster’s unabridged dictionary also helps.

For example, “face” can mean one’s judgment of something, one’s approval or disapproval. So using that definition, it follows that seeking the face of God means referring to God’s Word to find out if what I’m doing, thinking, saying meets His approval, if it’s in line with Jesus’ teachings and example.

It’s helpful that my heavy ol’ dictionary uses scriptural verses for some entries to illustrate word usage. “Seek the Lord and his strength, seek his face continually.” 1Chronicles 16:11

Sitting in the dark reading credits is one part of the movie-goer’s experience. Going to church is one part of my Christian experience.

Church services are interesting, unambiguous, relevant.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, christianity, Jesus, religion, spirituality, Sunday School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christian Gobbledygook

  1. Susan Storlie says:

    Beth, I can so relate to this. I can remember going to church with a friend and just not getting it. What was the big deal? I got out of bed early on a Sunday for this? We are truly blinded to the truth of Jesus until we step out in faith and believe. And now with open eyes (spiritual eyes, that is) God’s Word makes sense and I’m drawn to it. And to Him. And Sunday morning isn’t enough, I need/want His Word every day.

Leave a Reply

