“Texas Chainsaw” Slashes to the Top

This morning, as I skimmed through the “Living” section of the newspaper, I came to the entertainment section with box office results. My heart wilted. And I felt grief.

Over the weekend, the movie Texas Chainsaw slashed into first place … raking in more money than the brilliant movies Lincoln and Les Miserables, both of which have been playing for a few weeks.

I’m befuddled. Do the majority of movie-goers in America really like slasher movies? If yes, we’re living in a sick society, a society of souls that my church would call “broken.”

When I was a teenager, my boyfriend took me to the drive-in to see a slasher movie. I ducked beneath the dashboard so I wouldn’t see what was happening on screen. I plugged my ears to muffle the sounds of screaming. Seeing my boyfriend’s face twitch and grimace as he watched the Techni-Color gore was upsetting.

Two scriptures come to mind.

Romans 12:2

2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

The majority of the media tries to influence and warp the pattern of this world. The media, generally, doesn’t reflect who we really are.

Ecclesiastes 3:4 “A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;”

As we are made in God’s image, I believe God’s heart wilts as does mine when he sees what passes for “entertainment.”

It is time to weep and mourn when depictions of evil earn millions and millions of dollars.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in christianity, culture, satan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Texas Chainsaw” Slashes to the Top

  1. Michael Snow says:

    Before Christmas, my connecitng flight at Heathrow was canceled and I had a chance to see a bit of London for the first time. I was appalled to see banner advertisements on the side of the double-deck buses announcing the opening of this slasher film come January in 3D. It is sad to see what America exports around the world.

Leave a Reply

