True Growth: No Fertilizer Needed

 

During the first session of a “Wholeness” class at church, we examined how we think of ourselves in terms of our roots, pedigree, history.

So I wrote down the usual: My people are middle class, quiet, average, don’t do surprises or drama, are honest, repressed, and value education, blah, blah, blah.

Then, the class leader had us look at our roots from a Biblical perspective.

Of course, I’d read Genesis 1:27 before, but never in terms of how the verse pertains to ME, and YOU, and every person known and unknown to me.

Genesis 1:27

So God created man (woman) kind in his own image,
in the image of God he created them;
male and female he created them.”

The class leader said, “Remember this – We are made in God’s image. If we forget this, we start chasing other stuff and become dissatisfied. We are daughters and sons of the King!”

Cue special effects: An inner mudslide. Head trash being swept away.

My familial and cultural roots are still part of who I am, but less relevant to my day-to-day thoughts, attitudes and behaviors than I’d believed. I had been giving my biography too much power. Being part of God’s creation predates being a child of two humans.

I feel more thankful, light-hearted, happy, grateful, devoted, appropriately spontaneous, and thoughtful toward those around me, than I was the day before the class. I am free.

Thank you, Jesus.

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in bible study, christianity, culture, family, Genesis, Jesus, parents, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to True Growth: No Fertilizer Needed

  1. Susan Storlie says:

    You continue to amaze me! Thanks for putting that into words. I feel so much the same. My pedigree is one of royalty! I am a child of the King…..just have to live that out and not fall back into fear and self doubt.

Leave a Reply

