The Lucky Charm God

We were in a large room at church, attending a class called “Sensing God’s Presence.” Our table facilitator asked about our “experience of sensing God’s presence.”

Kim was slumped at our group’s table. When her turn came to talk, she sighed and said, “I don’t know…I want to feel God’s presence…but I haven’t lately….”

No one jumped in with a biblical bromide or painted word pictures of daffodils and bluebirds as evidence of God’s hand. I felt sorry for her and couldn’t understand how anyone couldn’t sense God here and there and over there!

I didn’t tell the table that even when I claimed to be agnostic, I knew God was omnipresent, that’s why I was too afraid to label myself atheist. (It was Jesus and all those bible stories – stories: a synonym for lies – that I doubted.)

Two years later I ran into Kim at another class at church. We did some quick catching up. She and her husband were to be officially divorced in a few weeks.

Her husband. I’d met him once right before a church service and felt as though I’d been introduced to a dry sack of resignation. He didn’t even try to fake being alive during the introductions. I knew then their marriage could not be good.

So, yeah, I understood, kinda, why Kim wasn’t feeling the big I Am’s presence. Because life stinks, she couldn’t sense God’s presence. And yet, the bible is full of bad things happening to people of faith who continued to sense God’s presence.

I call it the Lucky Charm God syndrome.

If life is good, God is present.

If life is bad, God is absent.

If God seems absent, it’s because He was not invited. He was puposefully excluded or thoughtlessly ignored.

If we act as though God is absent, then Satan is present.

But the universe God created is here and operating as He wills it, whether we SENSE Him or not.

God is present always. If we don’t know and act upon that truth, then what is it that we are sensing and responding to if not God?

There are only a few other choices. Flesh. Satan. Worldly culture.

 

Psalm 139 New International Version (NIV)

 

7Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? 8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, 10 even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” 12 even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you.

 

 

 

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in agnostic, atheism, atheist, culture, family problems, marital problems, relationships, satan, skeptic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Lucky Charm God

  1. I agree; I often don’t feel God around me, but I know He’s there. I think depending wholly on a ‘feeling’ is dangerous, because emotions can be affected depending on how long it’s been since lunch and whether I need a nap! 🙂

    • beth says:

      Shortly after I was born again, the pastor at church said something about how we’re not to base our relationship with God on our emotions. Emotions are unreliable. Ever changing. When he said that, I felt a great relief because I realized my feelings did not beling in the driver’s seat, at last. God does.

  2. charles says:

    Two questions.
    “I felt sorry for her and couldn’t understand how anyone couldn’t sense God here and there and over there!”
    What do you mean by “sense God”? Do you mean one of your physical senses? Can you describe this experience?

    “I knew God was omnipresent”
    What do you mean by this? On what basis did you know?

    I feel like I should add that these are sincere questions. I am not trying to start an argument. It seems lots of people are experiencing something that I have never experienced, even when I was a believer, and I want to understand what you mean.

    Thanks!

    • beth says:

      Wow, those are good questions and ones that I’m going to answer in a different way than you’re wanting. I was in your shoes not too long ago. Skeptical. More than skeptical I resented people who talked about Jesus and the Bible and all that stuff. (And in some instances I still do avoid certain “religious” people.) All I can say is this: I was born again as a result of watching the first segment of Nicky Gumbel’s Alpha series. Bam! Just like that, I knew God & Jesus are real. Sensing for me means a knowing in my body, mind, soul, spirit. The change in me, my demeanor, outlook, mood was noticable to others as well as myself. However, the argument for God and Jesus’ being real had to be made in a way that my intellect would accept. The Alpha Series was the first time someone – Nicky a former attorney – spoke to me on an intellectual level. I know, that’s not helping you understand where I’m coming from, but that’s my experience of it. I honestly believe that the moment I accepted Jesus, I began to change at a cellular level. I think differently than I used to. As for the omnipresent question, my response is pretty much the same as what I’ve already said. I know based on my personal experience of the change in me and the continuing change in me that would shock the former me. Nothing else in this world could change me but God, cuz God knows I tried everything else. Thank you for the sincere questions. I hope someday you will no longer be skeptical….

      • charles says:

        “Sensing for me means a knowing in my body, mind, soul, spirit.”
        I have no idea what this means. But I recognize that it might just be hard to describe in words.

        “I honestly believe that the moment I accepted Jesus, I began to change at a cellular level.”
        I have never heard anyone claim this before. I guess if you are going to take “new creation” literally, why not? This could actually be tested… I just need tissue samples before and after every Alpha class =)

        I’m happy for you that this experience has made such a positive difference in your life. I had a similar experience when I became a Christian years ago. I’m sort of opposite of you… I went from where you are now to being skeptical.

        I”m not really sure what I was hoping for in answer to my questions. I suspected I’d get a vague answer that would be easy to be skeptical of and that is what I got. That’s not to say that you are wrong and I am right. I’m just coming to the conclusion that the sort of evidence I am hoping for just isn’t going to come. Oh well.

        Thanks for replying!

  3. beth says:

    What would you think about the idea of praying for an answer…?

  4. beth says:

    I just listened to a talk by a pastor. He said that Mother Teresa and some other big name Christian (Wesley?) did not feel God’s presence. MT said she felt abandoned by God.

    In addition to the Alpha classes on video, the 3-disk series by Lee Strobel helped me. http://www.amazon.com/The-Strobel-3-Disc-Film-Collection/dp/B002C7ELU4

    I think it’s cool that although you’re skeptical, you are seeking. Some skeptics are content to sit in their skepticsm and stay there.

    • charles says:

      You seem like a nice person, and I assume you mean well. But I have to say that when you say “I think it’s cool that although you are still skeptical, you are seeking” what I hear is “I think it’s cool that you are still open to the possibility that I am right and you are wrong.”

      I am a recent skeptic. So I am still seeking. There may well come a time when I am a non-seeking skeptic because the as yet unexplored reasons to believe will have diminished. Don’t judge skeptics for remaining skeptical. Chances are they have been seekers in the past, but nothing has convinced them. They have good reasons for being skeptical.

      I’ve read Strobel in the past and find him unconvincing. His Case for Christ makes it sound like he went around interviewing people in order to decide whether or not to believe, but all his interviews are with Christian apologists. He only presents one side of the case. I am very committed to reading more than one side of any argument. It is too easy to be convinced of falsehoods when only hearing one side. I spent almost 30 years immersed in the Christian arguments for everything. Now I am reading other perspectives, as well.

  5. beth says:

    hmmm…wasn’t thinking about right and wrong. Was thinking how seeking has been a big part of my life and feeling a connection with you as another seeker.

  6. charles says:

    Sorry… I was probably just being overly sensitive. Not your fault.

Leave a Reply

