Atheist Reads “Born Again” Story….By Mistake

 My friend, Edie, posted an article on her facebook page. The article was by a pastor writing about what he would do if his son were gay. Naturally, he mentioned God.

Edie’s friend, Nina, commented, “Really beautiful, except for all the god crap. Sorry, you know I’m an atheist.”

Edie commented, “Nina, I love you as I love all my friends.”

Nina replied that she loves Edie, too.

The public postings on that topic ended.

I couldn’t stop thinking about Nina’s cold-hearted post. First of all, what a rude way to respond to Edie’s original post!

Second of all, I knew I had to respond to Nina. She was beggin’ for it! Why else would she have been so blunt and insensitive except to invite a reply? I waited two weeks to respond to Nina’s “god crap” post. I wanted to use the right words. Before writing my post, I decided that no matter what Nina might write to me, I would be OK.

I messaged Nina privately:

“Hi, Nina: Saw your “god crap” post. I recognize your stance. Only 5 years ago distained Christians and probably used stronger language against them and their crap. And a lot of what Christians (real one and false ones) do and say is 24-carat crap. The examples of crap are everywhere and plentiful.

” ‘What happened 5 years ago?’ one might ask. Someone – a lawyer-cum-pastor no less – explained the stuff about Jesus to me as if I had brains and an intellect and opinions of my own and experiences and multiple degrees…..everything changed when I finally understood who God is – Not the god we learn about from the culture.

“I don’t know your background, and I apologize for assuming that you would be interested in mine. Nevertheless, I felt compelled to share my experience with you.”

Nina replied, “No thanks.”

Huh? Then I realized that she didn’t understand that I had already shared my experience with her. HAHAHAHHAHAHA!

Our FB conversation ended. I’d planted the seed, and I’m more than OK with that.

http://www.gaystarnews.com/article/read-what-christian-pastor-promises-do-if-his-children-are-gay270914/

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in atheism, atheist, christianity, conversion, culture, ego, evangelism, Jesus, relationships, salvation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

