Love? Ick!

EncourageMy art ministry leader says, “Your job description is to LOVE…Art ministry is about the church loving artists…” and other similar statements about loving people.

My inner voice objects: “But I don’t love people.”

Fortunately, the art ministry leader gave an example of what love means. “When Samantha works at the computer and schedules our event calendar, she’s loving people.”

I think it’s the culture’s portrayal of love as lace ‘n’ roses in fuzzy focus and gooey emotions that I resist. I need to remind myself that love is shown by my actions, not necessarily by emotions.

If the actions I do to help set people free count as love, then I’m in.

I’ve learned that when I do something that shows love to people, I do get a fuzzy, gooey feeling.

The act of love precedes feeling love.

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

1 Thess. 5:11

 

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in art, artists, arts ministry, church, conversion, creativity, culture, ministry through art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

