What’s with the dove?

The dove represents Holy Spirit, which is the only Force/Entity/Reality that was
able to give me a new life.

“But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send Him to you.” John 16:7

Jesus and the Dove

“At age 30, Christ was baptized at the Jordan River by his cousin, John. We read:
‘When He had been baptized, Jesus came up immediately from the water; and
behold, the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending
like a dove and alighting upon Him’ (Matt. 3:16). This account of the Holy
Spirit descending as a dove upon Jesus was so important that it is mentioned in
all four Gospels (Matt. 3:16; Mark 1:10; Luke 3:22; John 1:32).

“I believe one of the reasons the Holy Spirit assumed the form of a dove is
because a dove has characteristics similar to those of the Holy Spirit. Doves
are commonly white in color, and white in the Scripture represents purity or
righteousness (Rev. 19:8). A dove expresses its affection by stroking its young
and cooing in a soft tone. Spiritually, the Holy Spirit causes believers to be
caring and loving for one another and even for those who are lost. The dove is
a gentle creature and never retaliates against its enemies, while believers are
told to turn the other cheek, to pray for our enemies and those who spitefully
use us (Matt. 5:39-44) and to never retaliate. When the young of a dove are
attacked, the dove will not attack but instead will cry out in distress. This
concept is also seen in the words of Romans 8, as Paul wrote that when a
believer does not know how to pray, the Holy Spirit will make intercession for
with groanings (vv. 26-28).” Excerpt from Code of the Dove

About beth

I started this blog in 2011 shortly after I finally opened my heart and mind to Jesus as a last resort. My intent with this blog is to share what I learn and feel along my path with Jesus.
This entry was posted in art, artists, arts ministry, conversion, creativity, Holy spirit, Jesus, ministry through art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

